When this scholarship was announced, AIHA Fellows were called on to raise $100,000 to fund it. A generous donation was made by Fellows David Gioiello and Denese Deeds. This was quickly followed up with a challenge from Kyle Dotson, who promised to match donations to the Fellows SIG Scholarship fund with a donation to his scholarship fund for a set period of time. The AIHA Fellows responded with numerous donations and the fund raised more than $30,000 in a short period of time. This was sufficient to award one scholarship for 2013 under the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation.

“On behalf of the AIHA Fellows SIG I want to thank those who have already contributed to this worthy endeavor, and to encourage the rest of the AIHA Fellows to consider giving to this wonderful cause,” noted Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH, Fellows SIG Past Chair. “The scholarships awarded through the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation allow us to continue to support bringing the best and the brightest into the profession.”
Past recipients

2019: Elon D. Ullman, University of Michigan

2018: Colleen A. Brents, Colorado State University

2017: Temitope O. Oluwadairo, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

2016: Taryn Dausman, University of Iowa

2015: Joshua A. Sarran, Montana Tech of the University of Montana

2014: Rustin James Reed, University of Arizona

2013: Susan Balthaser, University of Utah​